Love is All These Things, the Four Directions of the Medicine Wheel

img_0020
Christ’s Consciousness (left) with a man with in lamentation (right).  I see in the man at the right of the image a sullen face, a Roman Consciousness doing the best he can to feed his family in a time in America where it is getting harder and harder to earn a fair wage.  They were brought together by the Cross of a Power Shovel at the Dakota Access Pipeline Protection Action.  It is my sincere prayer to write and interpret what is going on in events like this through art and science.  I am very included to go towards abstract art for this to avoid direct confrontation with raw emotions and thoughts of people.  It is best to be veiled in this work and work with very primal colors, sounds, movements, and concepts.  Love can be white hot, or ice cold.  It can be flowing as the river in fall, or as subtle as the chickadee chirping the new life of spring.  Love is all these things, the four directions of the Medicine Wheel.  It is a deep prayer of mine that the four colors of humanity (red, white, yellow, and black) can come together in peace around water to resolve the trauma of the high speed nature of our current age.  Lets come together and relax in peace as we work in the ways that God has assigned to us.
img_0223
Dear Friend,
I wrote this post with some photos from Berkeley and my application essays for the ashram work study.  Here is a word cloud from my poem book I just published.  It shows that I am trying to do the best I can to release my old anger and trying to move to a slower pace of life so I can be at inner peace.  Peace in my own heart, peace in the world.
img_1967-1
I wanted to share them with you.  I asked and was granted forgiveness by my graduate advisers at Berkeley.  Both Michael Marletta and David Wemmer.  We talked for about an hour each, hugged, and made peace.  I had come to an understanding in these past seven years about the sources of what happened that caused the deep anger and psychic break.
Writing this poetry book, along with seminary (Princeton Theological Seminary), working with oppressed populations (refugees, African-Americans, and Native Americans), and several postdocs at a mixture of places (MIT, Emory, Harvard, and University of Minnesota) the past seven were the first step towards being happy working in simple work.  I worked for three months at a Greek grocery store named Bill’s Imported Foods.  I am going to continue this path of simple work for a while in the ashram.  I learned I love simple work like washing dishes, serving food, stocking shelves, carrying things, working with customers, talking to people, and smiling while serving food that is from my culture.  I started this blog in Minneapolis at the time.
Daedalus was the father of Icarus in Greek mythology.  While Icarus always tried to push the limits of life, Daedalus was wise and kept to within the lines.  However, he was still innovative and creative.  This is the new way I want to be.  No more Icarus, I want to be Daedalus.  I do not want to fly near the sun anymore, as I do not want to fly near black holes.
My dream right now is to be like water, smooth and peaceful.  The moment I am writing this blog post is a nice day.  The sun is out and the weather is warm.  I just meditated, sang kirtan, prayed, and did asanas in a class at the ashram.  I feel good in this path.  Today is the first day I am really at peace here in the yoga farm.  I am going to go eat now, but I wanted to share with you these thoughts in this blog post.
I am going to go through my cloths today and try to find just what I need and put the rest in the Free Bin for the ashram.  It is my hope to find some clean cloths to wear that fit me, as I have lost weight recently due to making peace with my heart and mind.
Love in God,
Kaya
img_1992
About kayaerbil

I am a Berkeley educated chemistry Ph.D. who is moving into the area of working on developing appropriate technology for communities that are subjected to socio-economic oppression. The goal is to use simple and effective designs to empower people to live better lives. Currently, I am working with Native Americans on Pine Ridge, the Lakota reservation in South Dakota. I am working with a Native owned and run solar energy company. We are currently working on building a compressed earth block (CEB) house that showcases many of the technologies that the company has developed. The CEB house is made of locally derived resources, earth from the reservation. The blocks are naturally thermally insulating, keeping the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Eventually, a solar air heater and photovoltaic panels will be installed into the house to power the home and keep it warm, while preserving the house off the grid. A side project while in Pine Ridge is a solar computer. I hope to learn about blockchain encryption software for building microgrids. In addition, it is an immediate interest of mine to involve local youth in technology education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

