AK-47 Poetry: How I Learned to Be Okay Watching the World Burn

13310532_1748450532058676_5592106718199767382_n

AK-47 Poetry: How I Learned to Be Okay Watching the World Burn

My pastor is the mud, black, red, and angry,
Scum of the earth to those shards without wounds,
Darkness taught me to write, search for truth,
The truth ain’t pretty sometimes,
Mama wanted more than I could be,

I find hope in those souls that tell it like it is,
Not like it should be, soul commandos,
Niggas with an attitude, NWA, say “Fuck the police!”
We need our drugs in the hood to survive,
You see truth hurts, raw and powerful,

Like it is, not like “It should be,”
I find hope in soul fury, it’s how I find peace,
Somehow, things today are more real,
We’re coming out of the closet,
Refusing to let the acid eat us out from the inside,

Poets like me write to survive,
We find hope in a friend loving us for our wounds,
Loving us for our brokenness,
Today, we’ve got a need for a better world,
A friend once said, “Hip-Hop might save the world,”

From ghettos around the world,
The poor and the oppressed are speaking up,
Refusing to hide, ain’t nothin’ wrong with my words,
That’s my cry for a better world,
You see I love to see the old world burn,

I hate the oppressive propriety of generations past,
Boulder crushing my soul,
If I’m silent how will I find my people?
My congregation is a church of the damed,
We’re living in the end of an age,

That’s where it is, don’t take that from me,
I chose this poverty, privileged enough to be free,
I had a choice to listen to the beat of those on the margins,
That’s where I find real love, in the raw bloody wounds of our times,
I love to watch the barriers burn away,

I love to etch souls with superacid, that’s my job,
I don’t settle for the human, I want to be immortal,
I have inside me blood of a warrior,
Verse my sword, my kung fu,
Trap music speaks to the times,

Dr. King ain’t alive no more, X dead,
We kill our prophets, red like the skin of America,
Black like the skin of Africa,
Money ain’t king when you don’t got it,
I like it that way, poetry is where I derive my new lifeway,

Mathematics of the soul, my preacher is my pen,
It connects me with others, finding hope in bare ground,
I like my spoken world like my music, loud and heavy,
I take ’em out, you want to see?
No apology, no white guilt, no problem,

If someone does not like my venom then they can call me a demon,
I don’t want to sell my soul for a dollar,
I am real, I am human, ain’t no one gonna turn me around,
A plow, poetry is how I learned to live,
Connect, love, let go,

I find out in time there are more like me,
Wandering ghosts in a soulless abyss,
Dark night of the soul is the place where we all need to be,
Maybe hell is where we all need to be right now?
Let the world burn, Judgement Day will come,

Apocalyptic as it sounds asteroids are running for president,
God control the world, not the Benjamin,
God control my venom, verse vigilante,
God made men, Colt made them equal,
The pen makes Gods of men,

When I say there are kids on I-94 blocking traffic,
I say they are screaming for the words to speak truth to power,
Hit the bourgeoise where it hurts,
Make them miss work, shut it down!
Things are going too fast,

We all need to connect and see this time for what it really is,
The human age, the Anthropocene,
Mass extinction the norm, oh well!
Let it burn, good poets turn blood into verse,
There are many who have not even had a chance,

Clear the brush of the rich for them,
For those with nothing revolution is hopeful,
Riots are joyful, anger released in fires and Molotov cocktails,
No more hiding!  No more rich men telling you what to do!
No more repression of suffering! Chaos and anarchy!

Maybe Prometheus stole fire from Zeus for this,
To be human is to sin, to be human in to eat,
To be human is to drink, to be human is to love,
Satan is man’s best friend, child Prometheus,
Knowledge and power, darkness rules,

From dust we came, to dust we shall return,
We live in a void, infinite space, absolute nothing,
Learn to love death, death is peace,
Satori, with that knowledge enlightenment comes,
Mind thunderstorms come into clarity,

Depression passes, acid of time eats it away,
Taste my venom, in it you will find hope,
There are those with privilege willing to throw it away,
Ready to be in those place most won’t go,
Exploring it for you to learn to light the fires of change,

This rock, earth, is small and tiny,
We’ll learn to share it after the greed dies,
Bullets pierce the hearts of men and women,
I’m willing to just throw everything away to see it happen,
Are you?

About kayaerbil

I am a Berkeley educated chemistry Ph.D. who is moving into the area of working on developing appropriate technology for communities that are subjected to socio-economic oppression. The goal is to use simple and effective designs to empower people to live better lives. Currently, I am working with Native Americans on Pine Ridge, the Lakota reservation in South Dakota. I am working with a Native owned and run solar energy company. We are currently working on building a compressed earth block (CEB) house that showcases many of the technologies that the company has developed. The CEB house is made of locally derived resources, earth from the reservation. The blocks are naturally thermally insulating, keeping the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Eventually, a solar air heater and photovoltaic panels will be installed into the house to power the home and keep it warm, while preserving the house off the grid. A side project while in Pine Ridge is a solar computer. I hope to learn about blockchain encryption software for building microgrids. In addition, it is an immediate interest of mine to involve local youth in technology education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

