Hood Sand Niggas Like Us Don’t Know About Climate Change

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 11.54.26 PM

Hood Sand Niggas Like Us Don’t Know About Climate Change

We feel the bullets, holding the steam in,
Pressure cooker ready to explode,
Masta, you ain’t give me books,
You ain’t give me a chance to learn,
Your rich ass kept your cash in your honkey ass white flight “Christian Academies,”
We got our Jihadist academies, we livin’ in a cold world,

I am a Berkeley Ph.D. (Chemistry ’09),
I know science don’t mean shit here in ‘Merica,
Distraction to the rich, fucking cowards,
Lost in the Protein Data Bank and Virtual Reality,
Ain’t no one need a fucking Internet of Things,
Ain’t no one need a coffee maker with an IP address,

Us sand niggas know you target drones against our trap lords with ’em,
Trump, radical political Islam is David’s sling against your Goliath,
In Dabiq you will fall, don’t like it, don’t want it,
Too bad bitch, I did it, I drove here,
You think I like being forced to be a poor ass poet?

You think I like to speak in slang to be heard?
Us hood sand niggas with Berkeley Ph.D.’s know who are friends,
They ain’t our father or sister, capitalism rotted them out years ago,
My family is a bomb crater of capitalist casualties,
Victims of a bomb raid, dad cursing the Jews,
Sister hitting the bottle, mom torn apart,

I got radicalized in the mental hospitals they used to try to shut me up with,
Bio-political panopticon, I know that language,
This sand nigga’s read Foucault,
Ready to tear your lackeys apart Trump,
I dream of flying out to Greece to help build mosques in Vienna,

4 parts drip coffee, 1 part Turkish coffee, shot of vodka,
The Siege of Vienna’s got all kinda drugs in it to penetrate your heart,
This sand nigga’s crazy, he’s nuts,
No one gets me, they put me in concrete rooms to shut me up,
One Siege of Vienna, and you’ll see it different,
Blow your brains out with caffeine and alcohol,

All of us out in the Global North are sick,
Rotting from the inside, people on smartphones,
10% of the world’s coal burn to write this poem,
The People’s Climate March was useless,
Everybody already knows we fucked,
The problem’s us,
We need to fight, we need to learn to die in the Anthropocene,

Poetry hit you in the heart harder than a bullet,
Listen to Boosie, hit the street, when ISIS and ‪#‎blacklivesmatter‬ unite I know what side I’m on,
In the American Spring I am on a side, no middle ground in the street,
Hamas and Hezbollah, Al Qaeda and the Islamic State,
KKK, you called me a sand nigga in Iraq and Afghanistan,

They tried to bleach my heart with white science,
Rottin’ my brain with facts and numbers,
Ain’t no body got time for that,
Bitch there are people in the streets to write too,
I don’t like Dallas, 9/11, or Orlando,
…but you push sand niggas like me and sometimes we hit back,
Misery and suicide, learning to die in the Anthropocene,
Wake the fuck up!
Wake to fuck up!
We’re fucked!

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 11.25.52 PM

About kayaerbil

I am a Berkeley educated chemistry Ph.D. who is moving into the area of working on developing appropriate technology for communities that are subjected to socio-economic oppression. The goal is to use simple and effective designs to empower people to live better lives. Currently, I am working with Native Americans on Pine Ridge, the Lakota reservation in South Dakota. I am working with a Native owned and run solar energy company. We are currently working on building a compressed earth block (CEB) house that showcases many of the technologies that the company has developed. The CEB house is made of locally derived resources, earth from the reservation. The blocks are naturally thermally insulating, keeping the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Eventually, a solar air heater and photovoltaic panels will be installed into the house to power the home and keep it warm, while preserving the house off the grid. A side project while in Pine Ridge is a solar computer. I hope to learn about blockchain encryption software for building microgrids. In addition, it is an immediate interest of mine to involve local youth in technology education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

