Under a Crescent Moon in Princeton

I saw a crescent moon, a deer, and a kind man tonight during my walking meditation on the quadrangle of Princeton Theological Seminary after a dream.

My heart rate as a function of time during the dream and walking meditation.

I wonder if Ice Climbers need chaplains?

The dream reminded me of a passage of the holy Qur’an taught to me by my cousin in Turkey:

“The Messenger has believed in what was revealed to him from his Lord, and [so have] the believers. All of them have believed in Allah and His angels and His books and His messengers, [saying], “We make no distinction between any of His messengers.” And they say, “We hear and we obey. [We seek] Your forgiveness, our Lord, and to You is the [final] destination.”

Allah does not charge a soul except [with that within] its capacity. It will have [the consequence of] what [good] it has gained, and it will bear [the consequence of] what [evil] it has earned. “Our Lord, do not impose blame upon us if we have forgotten or erred. Our Lord, and lay not upon us a burden like that which You laid upon those before us. Our Lord, and burden us not with that which we have no ability to bear. And pardon us; and forgive us; and have mercy upon us. You are our protector, so give us victory over the disbelieving people.””

-(Qur’an 2:285-286)

Imam Suhaib Webb recommended The Resilient Clinician for people entering into professional ministry. I was warned by a senior seminarian tonight that it is a good idea to take care of oneself first in seminary. Only then can one share life on earth with others with serenity and grace.  I love it here.  I wrote this poem yesterday for my cousin in Bursa, Turkey.  It is entitled The Descent of Man.  I would like to read it at the next Open Mic Night at PTS.

This poetic fragment I wrote yesterday entitled, “The Descent of Man,” is also dedicated to the emergency room doctor from the West Bank, the military chaplain from the United States Army, and a kind African- African American woman who looked at my fingernails and said I need better nutrition. I spoke to all Three yesterday, for me symbolic models of the Trinity. This poem is either apophantic theology or Unitarian Universalist in nature. Perhaps the apple does not fall to far from the tree …

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

About kayaerbil

I am a Berkeley educated chemistry Ph.D. who is moving into the area of working on developing appropriate technology for communities that are subjected to socio-economic oppression. The goal is to use simple and effective designs to empower people to live better lives. Currently, I am working with Native Americans on Pine Ridge, the Lakota reservation in South Dakota. I am working with a Native owned and run solar energy company. We are currently working on building a compressed earth block (CEB) house that showcases many of the technologies that the company has developed. The CEB house is made of locally derived resources, earth from the reservation. The blocks are naturally thermally insulating, keeping the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Eventually, a solar air heater and photovoltaic panels will be installed into the house to power the home and keep it warm, while preserving the house off the grid. A side project while in Pine Ridge is a solar computer. I hope to learn about blockchain encryption software for building microgrids. In addition, it is an immediate interest of mine to involve local youth in technology education.
This entry was posted in Free Writing, Photography, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

